37 weeks and 2 days.

As of Wednesday, I am officially full term and can birth in the Kind Edward Memorial Hospital Family Birth Centre as planned (prior to that I would have been transferred to the main Hospital).

That being said, I am now well and truly over pregnancy and ready to welcome Thatcher into the world – hint hint little man!!!

In the scheme of things (and compared to the horror stories I have heard) I have faired pretty well in my pregnancy – very little morning sickness, little to no swelling, only 3 little tiny stretch marks on my lower abdomen and I’m still able to work and function to about 75% of my normal range. Nevertheless, I have decided over the past month that I really do not enjoy pregnancy and am not in a hurry to do it again; if (and I mean IF) we decide to have another child, I think Rod and I might just adopt! 

I know that I’m growing through all this for something greater, but I am really not appreciating the pelvic, back and hip pain, the immobility, the insomnia, the incessant heartburn/acid reflux, not being able to sleep on my back, my huge stomach constantly getting in my way, the constant discomfort, not being able to have a drink, not being able to exercise like I used to and having to do everything at half pace. And to top it all off, despite me being convinced for the past 8 days that I have been in pre labour (ongoing period pains, my cervix has softened and slightly dilated, I’ve been feeling nauseous, I even had a few regular (but painless) contractions, the midwife told me today that I does not mean that I’m going to go into labour any time soon, and in fact, because I’m so desperate to have the baby early, he’s probably going to come late.

Oh well, at least it means that I’m likely to have a bit of a break between finishing work next Friday and becoming a mum. Rod will be so pleased – I can stay home all day and iron his work shirts (good luck with that honey…).

Leave a Reply

