Baby on a Budget

I have recently been loving Brooke’s blog over at allthingsthrify.com and am pleased to say that she has inspired me to be a little less crazy with my baby spending than I otherwise would have been.

I know that maybe I’m a little bit conceited, but I’m not too crazy on the idea of second-hand baby items unless I know where they come from and since I am the first of my family and friends to have a baby, I don’t really have an available supply of hand-me-downs to tap into.

With this is mind, I have decided that I am going to sell some of Rod’s and my unwanted clutter and use that money to buy Thatcher all the things we would have bought him anyway. Given just how cluttered my house and shed are starting to get, it’s a win-win situation all around.

So far I has managed to sell a leather couch (needed to upgrade to a sofa bed now that we don’t have room for a guest bedroom), our old fridge and an old chest of drawers on Gumtree. I just have to say that I love Gumtree! I have often heard people talk about it before never thought much of it, but it is like eBay but without the fees. I have also sold a couple of old pairs of designer sunglasses and some random Alannah Hill clothing on eBay. So far, in a little less than 2 weeks we have managed to make $440 for Thatcher and $450 towards our new sofa bed. Not a bad effort so far I thought.

And we still have more to go. If anyone is interested, I am selling a brand new sofa on gumtree (it came with our new sofa bed, but both sofas won’t fit in our living room – ALWAYS BRING A TAPE MEASURE) and a set of 8 rattan dining chairs.

Image

Image

Then for all of those odds and ends and no-longer-worn clothes laying around the house we have decided to get up early and brave the seasoned professionals at the Melville swap meet this Sunday morning. It is always a lot of fun. When I have had a stall at the swap meet in the past I am usually quite particular on the price I set for things, but this Sunday, as the aim of the game is to make room in the house and buy things for the baby, I have decided that I am just going to sell it all for $2 (with a very few exceptions). Hopefully we’ll make a few hundred dollars and come home with an empty car. I’ll let you know how it goes next Monday…

One thought on “Baby on a Budget

Leave a Reply

